Treasure Hunters

22 Feb

This isn’t the newest version of this gold buyer’s commercial, but it’s all I could find on youtube.

What I wanted to discuss was item #3 on their list, “private, confidential meetings,” as it’s actually the final selling point in the newest iteration of their pitch.

While they attempt to class it up a bit by having a woman in a suit play the customer, it seems to me that if you’re going to a gold buyer for a “private, confidential meeting”, it’s likely less a case of “I don’t want to be seen selling over the counter with the rest of the riffraff”, and more a case of: “I’ve stolen this from my ailing grandmother, and want to know if you’ll buy it without my having to risk a call to the police”. Gold

4 Responses to “Treasure Hunters”

  1. bmj2k February 22, 2011 at 16:34 #

    “The one you can trust”????? Every single frame of that commercial screams “SHADY!” Even the “free parking close to highway 101” is perfect for making a getaway!
    I’ve watched that three or four times now and it keeps getting better!

    • JRD Skinner February 22, 2011 at 20:03 #

      Hilariously, this is easily the classiest of the ads I’ve seen for this guy.

      Here’s one full of ridiculous testimonials (including my favourite line from Harold: “Jewelery – it’s not for ever!”)

  2. bmj2k February 22, 2011 at 20:42 #

    The guy behind the “we’re going on a cruise!” lady needs to be in EVERY video, no matter what the product, standing behind someone doing just that.

Leave a Reply

