Why We Need Annoying People Sometimes

19 Dec

LobsterI get a lot of guff for having a picky palette – largely due to my distaste for the insects of the sea – and I want to re-iterate a point I tried to make back in episode 037, Beef-pocalypse.

Variety in behavior isn’t a bug, it’s a feature. I may be picky, but that’s a survival trait that puts me in a certain statistical bracket where I’m unlikely to be poisoned by an ocean-born toxin. This spectrum is what makes us so resilient during wide-spread disasters, even if it comes across as an annoying refusal to eat at Red Lobster.

There are those amongst us who are the exotic mushroom tasters, just as there are those amongst us who fly experimental jets, and, although the one may not seem as romantic as the other, they’re both holding up the fight on one of humanity’s frontiers.

To those trailblazers: I applaud you – I just won’t dine with you.

5 Responses to “Why We Need Annoying People Sometimes”

  1. bmj2k December 19, 2010 at 18:30 #

    I never liked seafood, but ever since the crab and lobster family trees I’ve never looked at them the same way.

    That said, I love Deadliest Catch.

  2. Monique December 19, 2010 at 19:44 #

    But its kind of funny you really like red meat that will make your hamburger. Lol To each their own.

    • bmj2k December 20, 2010 at 00:25 #

      It’s the bug thing. Bugs are disgusting and these are just big underwater bugs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Donner Dinner Party « skinner.fm::blog of fiction - January 18, 2011

    […] make make no secret of my distaste for the insects of the sea, but, friend of the site, and Walker Journal creator, […]

Leave a Reply

