Diving For 3D Dollars

27 May

I have to admit: I’m not usually terribly impressed with shipwreck-dive movies.

As a general rule I love ruins, and I’m always drawn in by the opening moments of ethereal stillness, but it doesn’t take a lot of barnacle encrusted video before I’m zoning out.

I think that’ll change when we can send down the technology to generate a detailed 3D model of a wreck interior.

Why spend long hours, and risk multiple trips into the freezing depths of the sea, when you can scan it once and explore for days from the comfort of your office chair?

2 Responses to “Diving For 3D Dollars”

  1. bmj2k May 27, 2010 at 12:49 #

    I agree- that is a good use for 3D. I have been totally unimpressed with most 3D films, but the nature and documentaries blow me away.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ship Shape Update « skinner.fm::blog of fiction - July 28, 2010

    […] Jul Remember the post I did a while ago where I was rambling that someone needed to start creating 3D simulations of […]

Leave a Reply

